I Let You Go

Author: Clare Mackintosh
Publisher: Sphere
Publication Year: 2014
Genre: Mystery | Romance | Thriller | Crime

Rating: 5

I never thought I would run away. I never thought I would need to.”

What was this? Seriously! Because this should not have been a debut novel. It’s so rare that I find a book that really captivates me as much as this one did, and I doubt any of them were an author’s first attempt. But Clare Mackintosh has done it. I Let You Go, astounded in every way possible. I don’t usually like cliché phrases, but I Let You Go was like a roller-coaster, always spiralling into a new twist. No- In fact it was more like the Yorkshire country roads where I grew up; it is a winding tale that will take you on an adventure, throwing twists at you when you least expect it. And there’s no way of predicting them.

I was already a huge fan of crime thrillers before I stumbled across this, but I Let You Go has just left me craving for more amazing fiction that I don’t think I’ll be able to find. The first chapter hit me hard, would hit anyone hard really, and after that I was caught up in the book and was unable to put it down for more than an hour in my need to find out what happened. Clare Mackintosh has truly created something extraordinary here, one that I think any crime lover will adore.

Not only has she managed to create extraordinary characters, with exceptional attention to personalities and motives, but she’s also managed to maintain their individualities across three different view points. Normally having multiple view points alternating between chapters (and ranging from third, to first person) would be slow and uninteresting. Usually it would completely jolt the reader from the book with each switch, but it didn’t feel like that here. Mackintosh manages to write, and successfully write, both the first and third person with a flowing grace. It’s enchanting. It’s probably one of the reason that the books works as well as it does. The writing is designed to lead you astray because, most of the time, the protagonists know even less than the reader.

It was a gripping book that I couldn’t bear to let go of and I was truly sad to turn the last page and end it (especially given the ending!). However I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for something addictive. I can’t wait to see what she comes up with next.

2 thoughts on “I Let You Go

  1. Pingback: June Wrap Up | oliphantbooks

  2. Pingback: I See You | to read a novel

Leave a Reply

