The Girl On The Train

Title: The Girl On The Train
Author: Paula Hawkins
Publisher: Double Day
Publication Year: 2015
Genre: Thriller | Mystery
Rating: 4.5

“One for sorrow, two for joy, three for a girl. Three for a girl. I’m stuck on three, I just can’t get any further. My head is thick with sounds, my mouth thick with blood. Three for a girl. I can hear the magpies, they’re laughing, mocking me, a raucous cackling.  A tiding. Bad tidings. I can see them now, black against the sun.  Not the birds, something else. Someone’s coming. Someone is speaking to me. Now look. Now look what you made me do.

I don’t even know where to start. I mean, when I read the first two pages of this book they were so haunting it sent a chill right down to my spine. The extract above was in the book twice – the first time was as a sort of teaser on one of the first pages that I mentioned sending a shiver down my spine.

So many people had told me how good this book was, which obviously gave me some unrealistic expectations but the book did just about live up to them. It took me a little while to get into it, but only because of the teaser on the first two pages. It was written beautifully, and I was desperate to find out more. Though we didn’t actually get to main plot/story until about 40 pages in, which isn’t that long thinking about it now but when I was reading it originally it felt like ages!

It took me longer to read the book because I had to keep starting and then stopping, but for everyone else I’d imagine it wouldn’t take long to read it as the book is written sort of like diary entries. There are multiple point of views which was slightly confusing to begin with, mainly because the dates changed with each point of view but other than it was quite easy to follow.

There were one or two characters who were quite similar, but it was purposely done so that didn’t bother me that much. In my opinion though, the characters made the book. Don’t get me wrong, the plot and the twist was good but it was better because of the characters. I really like the way everything was distorted, and we had to try and piece things together and it took a while for the twist to come which meant I didn’t see it coming – which is actually quite weird because I’m used to guessing it quite early.

I would love to continue talking about the book, but I fear there isn’t much more I could say without spoiling it for all you potential readers, so I will end it here and just suggest all you mystery and thriller lovers check this book out because you wont regret it!

One thought on “The Girl On The Train

  1. Pingback: The Girl on the Train | to read a novel

Leave a Reply

