The Dream Thieves

Title: The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle #2)
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Publication Year: 2013
Genre: Fantasy | YA | Romance
Rating: 5

And Ronan was everything that was left: molten eyes and a smile made for war.

The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle #1) review

I JUST CAN’T WITH THIS SERIES. I thought that the first book was amazing and within minutes of turning that last page I was scrambling to order the rest so that I could continue reading. Then I read this one and how is it even possible that this was better than the first? How? Everything I hated in the first book (namely Ronan and how useless and annoying he was) literally turned on head and showed me just how wrong I’d been. And boy was I wrong! Trust me no one is more surprised with me that I actually like this stupid idiot but this was the book that I fell for Ronan Lynch and I’m now clinging onto him for dear life as my fingers inch towards the next book. How is it possible to care this much about a character?

But enough about Ronan. This book was almost everything that I wanted it to be but at times I felt like it was dragging it’s feet to stop getting to the actual plot. One of the things I did realise shortly after going into these books was that the entire series takes space over a year. That’s about 3 months per book, which could be a lot of time but given book terms isn’t really that long at all. So yes, I did feel like this book dragged a bit but that might just be because I was mainly in it for the Glendower plot and there wasn’t much of that in this.

What there was a lot of was character development. There was a heck of a lot of that. There were so many gasp moments when you discover things about the characters and so many moments where I just had to sit back and take in what I’d just read because it was so beautifully thought out and it just took that last push for all the dots to join together and it was so fricking well-thought out. I didn’t even see it coming until it happened and then it seemed so obvious! Stiefvater is so good at this thing, man. These characters were like a mystery onion with so many layers of secrets and lies and discoveries about themselves! I have no idea where half of these things are leading to but I have my ideas and I pray that some of them come true!

Also in my last review for this series I said I wasn’t a fan of love stories and that I was pleased when Stiefvater didn’t really involve romance in her book (despite the blurb). Then I read this one and I’m on the train, I’m on all the ship trains! Stiefvater manages to write so many amazing relationships without them even needing to kiss and I’m just reading all of them and they’re so amazing. And Ronan is so so so subtle and I love him for it! This had to be one of my favourite quotes:

She wore a dress Ronan thought looked like a lampshade. Whatever sort of lamp it belonged on, Gansey clearly wished he had one.
Ronan wasn’t a fan of lamps.

And after that my ships were sailing. I’m so invested in these books. I’m invested in Gansey finding his Glendower and Ronan finding himself and Blue saving her true love and Adam getting to the person that he wants to be and Noah finally being able to look at all of his group and finally being at ease enough to take the next step. This series has gotten me hooked and I am literally picking up the next book now to start reading and see what happens to his bunch of misfits!

P.S Where’s Nevee? I expected her to come back but she’s still MIA. I’m sure she’s going to come back and mess things up.

5 thoughts on “The Dream Thieves

    • I’ve finished both of them now (these reviews are a little delayed in their posting due to our schedule) and while I loved the third (but not as much as the second!) I felt like the fourth and final book was a little bit of a letdown 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Blue Lily, Lily Blue | to read a novel

Leave a Reply

